Proceeds from website advertising help sustain Lab Tests Online. AACC is a not-for-profit organization and does not endorse non-AACC products and services.


Print this article
Share this page:


2008 World Health Organization classification of tumors of hematopoietic and lymphoid tissues

Mature B-cell lymphoma
Chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma
B-cell prolymphocytic leukemia
Splenic marginal zone lymphoma
Hairy cell leukemia
Splenic lymphoma/leukemia, unclassifiable*
   Splenic diffuse red pulp small B-cell lymphoma*
   Hairy cell leukemia variant*
Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma
Waldenström macroglobulinemia
Heavy chain diseases
   Alpha Heavy chain disease
   Gamma Heavy chain disease
   Mu Heavy chain disease
Plasma cell myeloma
Solitary plasmacytoma of bone
Extraosseous plasmacytoma
Extranodal marginal zone lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT lymphoma)
Nodal marginal zone lymphoma
   Pediatric nodal marginal zone lymphoma*
Follicular lymphoma
   Pediatric follicular lymphoma*
Primary cutaneous follicle centre lymphoma
Mantle cell lymphoma
Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL), not otherwise specified
   T-cell/histiocyte rich large B-cell lymphoma
   Primary DLBCL of the CNS
   Primary cutaneous DLBCL, leg type
   EBV-positive DLBCL of the elderly*
DLBCL associated with chronic inflammation
Lymphomatoid granulomatosis
Primary mediastinal (thymic) large B-cell lymphoma
Intravascular large B-cell lymphoma
ALK-positive large B-cell lymphoma
Plasmablastic lymphoma
Large B-cell lymphoma arising in HHV8-associated multicentric Castleman disease
Primary effusion lymphoma
Burkitt lymphoma
B-cell lymphoma, unclassifiable, with features intermediate between diffuse large B-cell lymphoma and Burkitt lymphoma
B-cell lymphoma, unclassifiable, with features intermediate between diffuse large B-cell lymphoma and classical Hodgkin lymphoma
Mature T-cell and NK-cell neoplasms
T-cell prolymphocytic leukemia
T-cell large granular lymphocytic leukemia
Chronic lymphoproliferative disorder of NK cells*
Aggressive NK-cell leukemia
Systemic EBV-positive T-cell lymphoproliferative disease of childhood
Hydroa vacciniforme-like lymphoma
Adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma
Extranodal NK/T-cell lymphoma, nasal type
Enteropathy-associated T-cell lymphoma
Hepatosplenic T-cell lymphoma
Subcutaneous panniculitis-like T-cell lymphoma
Mycosis fungoides
Sézary syndrome
Primary cutaneous CD30+ T-cell lymphoproliferative disorders
   Lymphomatoid papulosis
   Primary cutaneous anaplastic large cell lymphoma
Primary cutaneous γδ T-cell lymphoma
Primary cutaneous CD8+ aggressive epidermotropic cytotoxic T-cell lymphoma*
Primary cutaneous CD4+ small/medium T-cell lymphoma*
Peripheral T-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified
Angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma
Anaplastic large cell lymphoma, ALK-positive
Anaplastic large cell lymphoma, ALK-negative*
Hodgkin lymphoma
Nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin lymphoma
Classical Hodgkin lymphoma
    Nodular sclerosis classical Hodgkin lymphoma
    Lymphocyte-rich classical Hodgkin lymphoma
    Mixed cellularity classical Hodgkin lymphoma
    Lymphocyte-depleted classical Hodgkin lymphoma
Histiocytic and dendritic cell neoplasms
Histiocytic sarcoma
Langerhans cell histiocytosis
Langerhans cell sarcoma
Interdigitating dendritic cell sarcoma
Follicular dendritic cell sarcoma
Fibroblastic reticular cell tumor
Intermediate dendritic cell tumor
Disseminated juvenile xanthogranuloma
Posttransplantation lymphoproliferative disorders (PTLDs)
Early lesions
   Plasmacytic hyperplasia
   Infectious mononucleosis–like PTLD
Polymorphic PTLD
Monomorphic PTLD (B- and T/NK-cell types)†
Classical Hodgkin lymphoma type PTLD†

ALK, anaplastic lymphoma kinase; HHV8, human herpesvirus 8; and NK, natural killer.
*These histologic types are provisional entities for which the WHO Working Group felt there was insufficient evidence to recognize as distinct diseases at this time.
†These lesions are classified according to the leukemia or lymphoma to which they correspond.

Source: Campo E, et al. The 2008 WHO classification of lymphoid neoplasms and beyond: evolving concepts and practical applications. Blood. 2011 May 12; 117(19): 5019–5032.

« Prev | Next »